Magical Malai Kulfi- Indian Ice-cream

Almond and Pistachio Malai Kulfi

I stay on my own and unfortunately I do not have a fridge. I paid for 95% of my studies, so there was no spare change for a fridge but I am hoping to get a cute mini one soon. (5% was that one time my dad saved me, I love you dad!)

No fridge means no cheesecake, no chocolate mousse, no basbosa and no ice cream. One Saturday afternoon I planned to sleep over at my boyfriend’s place. Now because winter is approaching here in South Africa I wanted to make sure I got my fix of Indian ice-cream before the cold really hit, so I asked him if I could make it at his house- he obviously has a fridge.

So after I made a delicious murgh kari for dinner I served up malai kulfi and the only thing that was missing was an extra helping of the kulfi…

Want to make your own Malai Kulfi? Try out this creamy, rich recipe!

 

Stuffs you need:

8 empty yoghurt pots

A tin of condensed milk

A tin of evaporated milk

400ml cream

100g almonds- coarsely chopped

100g pistachios-coarsely chopped

1 teaspoon elachi (cardomom) powder

1 teaspoon rose essence

 

What to do:

Add condensed milk, evaporated milk and cream into pot and let that come to the boil, stirring continuously. This stuff can easily stick to the bottom.

Turn the heat down (mark 4 on stove) and allow mixture to reduce and thicken, this takes 15 to 20 minutes and then it’s done! Take the pot off the heat and add your rose essence and elachi powder. Then allow the mixture to cool completely. After this step you add your almonds and pistachios to the mixture, leaving behind some of the chopped nuts to decorate your finished product.

Pour the creamy mixture into the yoghurt pots and then freeze for 6 hours for soft ice-cream or 10 hours for hard set ice-cream. Turning them out is so easy; just dip the pots in hot water for a few seconds and flip over onto a plate!

 

When that cold, creamy taste danced on my taste buds I decided that winter will not hold me back from making and eating more ice-cream!

 

Enjoy!!

 

2 thoughts on “Magical Malai Kulfi- Indian Ice-cream

    1. Aaaw I am so sorry to read that! If I ever attempt to make something milky but tummy friendly, you will be the first to know!

      Like

Leave a Reply

