The Power of Manson, Marilyn Manson…

Last week Saturday after a great game of bowling, go-kart sessions and pub grub; booze senses started tingling.

My best friends and I made our way to a nightclub called The Doors. It was only my second time visiting the club but I already knew what to expect- not a single bloody Doors song.

The nightclub is plastered with logos I know all too well, Bauhaus, Sisters of Mercy, Nine Inch Nails and the face of Jim Morrison himself. I have not heard a single song of the bands I just mentioned either (the first night I did request “She’s in Parties”the DJ “couldn’t find it”), but I happily downed beers because the music was loud and the walls were dark. And waited, waited for a song so I could attempt to shake my body.

What I have heard and liked is Marilyn Manson. On my first night, I watched people run to the dance-floor when the DJ played Bullet for my Valentine or Chevelle. The only song I could have danced for was  by the Deftones but it was Manson that actually got me up.”Sweet dreams are made of these, who am I to disagree…”

 

Now if I have to be honest, I am guilty of saying the following:

“I only like their old stuff.”

“Yeah, what an awesome band but I only listen to their first two albums.”

“The new stuff is such shit!”

“I wish they would go back to their old sound.”

 

I have used all  of these lines on Marilyn Manson and I am sorry. I am sorry because at the club last Saturday it was “Deep Six” that got me dancing; a song off Manson’s latest album, The Pale Emperor.

I was surprised that the glam-rocker still has the ability to make me want to rush to the dance-floor, whether it is a song from his 1995 or 2015 album. I am going to give The Pale Emperor another listen, a proper listen, because clearly the “God of Fuck”, still has some power.

 

manson

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

